Cobre Restaurant, Nuevo Latino Cuisine

March 5, 2009

Have you ever been to a restaurant and said, “I can’t wait to come back here again!” and then the next day, you actually do? I never had…until I went to Cobre Restaurant. Always up for a new culinary adventure, I sauntered up to the bar greeted by an inviting room, a welcoming kitchen and lovely staff. The two fine gentlemen who entertained me turned out to be two thirds of Cobres’ owners. Jason, who is also the beverage manager and Stuart, whose passion and detail in describing the Nuevo Latino menu, proved that he commanded the kitchen. The third, Tyson is the G.M. and trained chef who collaborates with Stuart on the menu.

My journey consisted of Tuna Ceviche, Wild Mexican Sea Prawns and Pan Seared BC Sablefish. I took family there the next weekend and my boyfriend and I now indulge ourselves regularly. Cobre surpasses expectations on all counts – service, ambiance, and food are exemplary. I highly recommend sitting at the bar and getting to know Jason, Stuart and Tyson. You’ll want to visit them every chance you get.
“…blending the passion of Argentina with the exuberance of Cuba, the sultriness of Brazil, and the joy of Mexico.” 52 Powell Street, at Columbia Vancouver BC in Gastown.

~ Kimberlee Alexander

Cobre Restaurant logo

Leave a Reply

